Ottawa Adds To Russian Sanctions

(OTTAWA, ON) – Prime Minister Stephen Harper issued announced additional economic sanctions and travel bans against three Russian individuals, and economic sanctions against 14 Russian entities, as well as an import/export ban covering illegally-occupied Crimea.

“Until there is real peace, until occupying forces are withdrawn, and until Ukraine’s territorial sovereignty is restored, there must be on-going consequences for President Putin’s regime,” Harper said. “These further sanctions are being taken in coordination with our partners. We stand with our partners in calling on President Putin to end his invasion of Eastern Ukraine, to withdraw his soldiers, tanks and heavy weapons, and to cease providing military aid to insurgents. We support current efforts for a diplomatic solution and call for Russia and its proxies to fully implement their commitments under the Minsk agreements.”

Click for the latest news

About the Author

Ian Shalapata
Ian Shalapata
Ian Shalapata is the owner and publisher of Square Media Group. He covers politics, the police beat, community events, the arts, sports, and everything in between. His imagery and freelance contributions have appeared in select publications and for organizations in Canada and the United States. Contact Ian with story ideas.

1 Comment on "Ottawa Adds To Russian Sanctions"

  1. Prime Minster Harper has made a good call on putting sanctions on Russia, they must honor the Minsk agreements.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: